1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.



Updated July 08, 2014

Definition: According to ayurveda, doshas are made up of five elements: air, space, fire, earth and water. There are three ayurvedic doshas: the vata dosha is a combination of air and space, the pitta dosha is a combination of fire and water, and the kapha dosha is water and earth.

Each person is thought to be born with a combination of the three types of doshas, with one or two dominant doshas determining our physical, mental and emotional characteristics. An imbalance among the doshas is thought to cause illness.

Pronunciation: dosh´ah

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.